Washington, D.C.

Washington, D.C., capital of the United States of America

Washingtion, D.C. is capital of the United States.  D.C. is the acronym for “District of Columbia“.  Commonly referred to as Washington, D.C., the District.

Coordinates: 38°54’17″N 77°00’59″W

Population: 2016 estimate 681,170, Metro 6,097,684 and CSA 9,625,360

Rank: 22nd

ZIP Codes: 20001, 20098, 20201-20599

Area Code (s): 202

Named for: George Washington – 1st President of the United States

Approved: Congress passed the Residence Act on July 9, 1790, signed into law by George Washington on July 16, 1790, approving the beginning of a capital district next to the Potomac River covering 100 square miles.

Organized: 1801


Washington D.C. is home to the three (3) branches of the federal government, which includes Congress, President and the Supreme Court.  Additionally, it is home to 176 foreign embassies, headquarters to international organizations, trade unions, non-profit organizations, lobbying groups and professional organizations.  Furthermore, it is home to many tourist attractions including, including an estimated 95 national monuments and museums.

The Congress possesses authority over the city and may overturn local law.  Local law was not organized until 1973, then electing a mayor and 13-member city council.  The District has no representation in the Senate, however, it does receive three electoral votes in presidential elections, permitted by the 23rd Amendment to the United States Constitution, which was ratified in 1961.

Two towns that were included in the territory were Georgetown, Maryland (founded in 1751) and Alexandria Virginia (founded in 1749).  Andrew Ellicott surveyed the borders of Washington, D.C. in 1791 thru 1992 placing boundary stones every mile, which many of those stones still remain.

The first session in Washington D.C. on November 17, 1800.

The building of our capital was delayed after the Burning of Washington when British forces invaded the city on August 24-25, 1814, during the Was of 1812, burning the Capital, Treasury and the White House.  The Capital was under construction, but was not complete in its current form until 1868.