Thursday, January 21States Top Leading News (STL.News)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) was created after September 11th attacks, making it the youngest U.S. cabinet department.  However, it is the third largest cabinet with more than an estimated 240,000 employees with an annual budget in excess of an estimated $40 Billion.  Homeland Security is comparable to the interior or home ministries of other countries.

Homeland Security responsibilities including:

  • Protect the Public
  • Border Security
  • Immigration & Customs
  • Cyber-Security
  • Disaster Prevention and Management

U.S. Department of Homeland Security is headed by:

Subordinate agencies are:

  1. Citizen & Immigration Services Ombudsman
  2. Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction Office
  3. Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers
  4. Federal Protective Service
  5. Management Directorate
  6. National Protection and Programs Directorate
  7. Office for Civil Rights & Civil Liberties
  8. Office of General Counsel
  9. Office of Legislative Affairs
  10. Office of Operations Coordination
  11. Office of Partnership & Engagement
  12. Office of Strategy, Policy and Plans
  13. Office of Public Affairs
  14. Office of the Inspector General
  15. Privacy Office
  16. Science & Technology Directorate
  17. Transportation Security Administration
  18. United States Citizen and Immigration Services
  19. United States Coast Guard
  20. U.S. Customs and Border Protection
  21. U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement
  22. United States Secret Service

External Links:

Internal Links: