Missouri Announces Finalists for 2020 Teacher of the Year

Jefferson City, MO (STL.News) – After receiving more than 240 nominations from citizens, school districts and charter schools throughout the state of Missouri, the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) announced seven finalists for the 2020 Missouri Teacher of the Year award.  This year’s finalists represent five different regions throughout the state and highlight the broad range of course options that are helping prepare Missouri students for success beyond graduation.

The seven finalists include:

  • Dan Brinkmann, Washington – automotive technology, Four Rivers Career Center
  • Melissa Grandel, Fordland R-III – English language arts, Fordland High School
  • Zachary Hamby, Ava R-I – English language arts, Ava High School
  • Denise Henggeler, Northeast Nodaway Co. R-V – fourth grade, Northeast Nodaway Elementary
  • Kevin Lay, Gasconade Co. R-II – physics/physical science/STEM, Owensville High School
  • Rachael Wilcox, Francis Howell R-III – first grade, Independence Elementary
  • Sandra Wood, Maryville R-II – Spanish, Maryville High School

“I want to commend every teacher in Missouri for their hard work as we start the school year,” Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education Margie Vandeven said.  “These seven finalists provide a snapshot of the lasting impact great teachers have on our students from the first to the last day they step into a Missouri public school.  We couldn’t be more excited for this announcement.”

A committee comprised of teachers, business leaders and education organization leaders will choose the Missouri Teacher of the Year following interviews with each finalist on Monday, September 9. The winner, finalists, semifinalists and Regional Teachers of the Year will be honored at a banquet in Jefferson City on Monday, October 21.  The new Missouri Teacher of the Year will serve as the state’s nominee for the 2020 National Teacher of the Year.

The Missouri Teacher of the Year program recognizes the efforts of effective teachers in providing a quality education to their students.  Shelly Parks, an English language arts teacher from Francis Howell North High School (Francis Howell R-III), is the current Missouri Teacher of the Year.

DESE conducts the Missouri Teacher of the Year program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and Bayer AG.


STL.News is owned and operated by STL.News, LLC. We publish States Top Leading News. Our news is timely, unbiased and content is obtained direct from the source to obtain reliable information. Additionally, we will publish YouTube news video from major media companies.

Published by

Recent Posts

Brian Leasor Sentenced For Child Exploitation Offense

Former Elizabethtown Police Officer, Brian Leasor Sentenced - For Second Time In Federal Court -…

10 hours ago

New York: Terrence Nealy Sentenced For Multiple Crimes

Second New York Man, Terrence Nealy Sentenced For Aggravated Identity Theft and Conspiracy to Commit…

10 hours ago

John Michael Raley Pleads Guilty to Child Pornography

Silver Spring Sex Offender, John Michael Raley Pleads Guilty to Possession of Child Pornography Violated…

10 hours ago

Austin Hsu Pleads Guilty to COVID-19 Relief Fraud Scheme

Austin Hsu Pleads Guilty to COVID-19 Relief Fraud Scheme (STL.News) A Washington man pleaded guilty…

10 hours ago

Charleston: Samantha Miller Sentenced For Multiple Crimmes

Charleston Woman, Samantha Miller Sentenced to Federal Prison for Bank Fraud and Possession of Stolen…

10 hours ago

Gulf Coast: Cameron Malik Pleads Guilty to Firearms Offense

Gulf Coast Man, Cameron Malik Dajon Payton Pleads Guilty to Firearms Offense Gulfport, MI (STL.News)…

10 hours ago